Summer Litho

by amandamorris21

Sorry to have been away so long, I have been in a hurry to finish all of my summer litho projects, of which I will be posting one a week until I run out : ) But for a quick look at what is to come here is a photo of my workspace as I edition a few differnt print sets.

The first print I will be showing is….

This reductive litho!!!!

Now this was my first time working reductively on stone and surprisingly was rather enjoyable. I generally am not a reductive thinker (image wise) as I like to build upon an image until I am satisfied, or somewhere in the general area of satisfied. This was a good process to learn and experiment with. Basically I started out with a flat of my lightest color, and scrapped out any areas which I wanted to remain white, then printed my layer. You continue the process, building upon the same image, scraping out the areas that you want to remain the previous color until you have your completed image.

The print itself is of two taxidermy deer forms, but is mainly just an experimentation with process more than anything else. Now that the print is finished there are definitely a few things that I would change about it, since I now have a better understanding of the process, but overall I think it is a fair beginning to working reductively.